New Carbon Monoxide Detector Laws for California!

 

There are new Carbon Monoxide detector requirement laws that recently went into effect on 1/1/2013. California state now requires CO detectors in multi-unit dwellings. Although the bill was signed into law in 2010, California residents must have  carbon monoxide detectors in their homes as of July 1, 2011. This timeline  applies only to single-family homes that have appliances that burn fossil fuels  or homes that have attached garages or fireplaces.

A fine for $200 is the penalty for homeowners that do not comply with the CO detector installation requirements.

Read more:  California Law on Carbon Monoxide Detector Requirements | eHow.com http://www.ehow.com/list_6674598_california-carbon-monoxide-detector-requirements.html#ixzz2OwtrdW2o

 

CALIFORNIA

What is the effective date for installing a CO device?

  • For a single-family dwelling having fossil fuel burning appliances and/or attached garages, the effective date is July 1, 2011.
  • For all other dwelling units having fossil fuel burning appliances and/or attached garages, the effective date is January 1, 2013.
  • For hotels and motels having fossil fuel burning appliances and/or attached garages, the effective date is January 1, 2016.

 

California Cal. Health & Safety Code §   13260 to 13263 – Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Prevention Act of 2010

 

Cal. Health & Safety Code §   17926 to 17926.2 – Regulation of Buildings Used for Human Habitation

Requires State Fire Marshal to   developed approved carbon monoxide device list. Prohibits marketing,   distribution or sale of devices not on the approved list.

 

Requires installation of approved   carbon monoxide detectors in single-family dwellings by July 1, 2011, and for   all other dwellings by 2013 if those dwellings contain a fossil fuel burning   heater or appliance, fireplace, or an attached garage. Applies to rental   property. Provides $100 penalty upon sale or transfer of noncompliant dwellings.